Why I let my boys play at the gym 

I work at a private gym facility. My boys have become use to coming to my work and playing while I workout or clean or do random things. My 6 year old loves the bosu ball and my baby likes to sit on the leg of the elliptical. I stay close but don’t tell them no. If my kids puts his hands near the treadmill belt or is in a dangerous situation that’s a different story. 

He loves to sit on the rowing machine. 

I hope even if they aren’t doing things right by bringing them with me I am encouraging them to love fitness. Even if they are climbing on a machine that is meant for a different thing there will be a day I show them and they are excited to try it. I notice sometimes they will mimic the moves I do for class or a workout and I know I am doing the right thing. My 6 year old tells me often he likes to exercise and that makes me happy. I want to raise them to have a healthy relationship with movement. 

I would not let me kids climb around at a big gym with other people using equipment and understand not everyone has access to a private facility, but think outside the box on how you can let your children see the healthy habits you have. Maybe make a fun obstacle course you can do together at your home. Use water bottles as weights and let them try. Have races and and skipping, jumping and other fun things kids enjoy doing. 

Your children are watching help encourage them to participate. 

My son doing yoga at the park. We use kids cosmic yoga off YouTube at home and he loves it. Check out her free channel to enjoy with your kids. 

Now when I leave to teach or for a client my kids are upset when they can’t come play. I feel sad but also happy that they want to be active. I hope these habits will stay with them all through their lives. 

Leave a Reply

